Missouri has one of the country’s strictest laws for medical marijuana. It’s among the few states that require patients to have a qualifying condition, register with the state, and have an approved doctor before getting their cannabis card.
However, these restrictive measures haven’t stopped thousands of people from applying for medical marijuana in Missouri every month. This step-by-step guide will help you learn everything you need to know about applying for a medical marijuana card in Missouri. Keep reading!
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Missouri?
Anyone who has been diagnosed with one of the qualifying medical conditions can apply for a medical marijuana card in Missouri. Nevertheless, not everyone will get approved for an MMJ card. Missouri requires patients to follow strict guidelines, including visiting a certified doctor and registering with the state. As long as you meet all the requirements, you will get your card in no time without issues.
Step 1: Get a Doctor’s Recommendation for the card in Missouri
First, if you want to get your hands on some medical marijuana in Missouri, you need a recommendation from an approved physician. While this may seem like a straightforward task, it’s not as easy as it sounds. Only a few doctors in Missouri are authorized to prescribe cannabis to their patients.
The program is still pretty new, and the list of qualifying conditions hasn’t expanded yet. So while this may change in the future, for now, it’s serious to understand that getting a doctor’s recommendation isn’t like walking into your favorite dispensary and grabbing a pre-filled MMJ card from behind the counter.
Now that you have a doctor’s recommendation, it’s time to find a dispensary. Thus, if you live in a place like St. Louis, Kansas City, or Springfield, it wouldn’t be hard to request an MMJ card. However, looking for an establishment that can help you may take more effort if your location is in smaller towns or cities.
For instance, if you live in Joplin or Cape Girardeau (or anywhere else), your best bet is to order medical marijuana card online in Missouri and have your medicine delivered right to your doorstep.
Now that you have your doctor’s recommendation and know where to buy weed from in Missouri, this step is pretty easy once the previous steps are taken care of. Go to the nearest store and fill out an application on-site with the medical marijuana staff. Once everything is good, then they should be able to offer some guidance about how long it will take for the state program to process your application and send back a card in the mail (usually 1-2 weeks).
After receiving your medical marijuana card, you’ll have access to legal weed. Just remember that if you go out and buy cannabis, be sure to get a receipt and always bring your MMj card. The state will need this when you file your taxes as a medical marijuana patient.
How Much Do You Pay to Get a Medical Marijuana Card?
Furthermore, this is where the Missouri program stands out. A medical cannabis card in Missouri will cost you $100 only. It is the lowest fee in the country. Many states charge $200 or more, so this is a great place to be if you are on a budget.
How Long Does It Take to Obtain a Medical Cannabis Card in MO?
The time it takes to get your medical marijuana card in Missouri depends on some factors. For example, whether you have any qualifying conditions that need approval from the state’s health department, with one of the qualifying conditions, it can take up to two months for the authorization from DHSS. However, if your condition doesn’t fit under one of these categories, it will be fast-tracked and approved within two weeks.
If there are still any issues or concerns about getting medical marijuana in Missouri, contact the Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS).